I’m thrilled to announce that my Women’s Fiction debut

SECRET LIVES OF MOTHERS & DAUGHTERS

will be published by Harper Avenue and released on January 28, 2020 in Canada

and February 18, 2020 in the US, UK, AUS and NZ.

Indie Bound: http://bit.ly/2OSSHuV

HarperCollins Canada: http://bit.ly/2rGoHcm

HarperCollins US: http://bit.ly/2Li7Y6e

Chapters/Indigo: http://bit.ly/34J4gtQ

Amazon Canada: https://amzn.to/2OHMx0m

Amazon US: https://amzn.to/2P2ZiS8

Amazon UK: https://amzn.to/2YdLcSc

On Goodreads: http://bit.ly/388PkHx

For readers of Shilpi Somaya Gowda’s “Secret Daughter” and Nancy Richler’s “The Imposter Bride,” a breathtaking novel from Anita Kushwaha about the ties that bind mothers and daughters together and the secrets that tear them apart
*
Veena, Mala and Nandini are three very different women with something in common. Out of love, each bears a secret that will haunt her life—and that of her daughter—when the risk of telling the truth is too great. But secrets have consequences. Particularly to Asha, the young woman on the cusp of adulthood who links them together. On the day after her eighteenth birthday, Asha is devastated to learn that she was adopted as a baby. What’s more, her birth mother died of a mysterious illness, leaving Asha with only a letter. Nandini, Asha’s adoptive mother, has always feared the truth would come between them. Veena, a recent widow, worries about her daughter Mala’s future. The shock of her husband’s sudden death leaves her shaken and convinces her that the only way to keep her daughter safe is to secure her future. Mala struggles to balance her dreams and ambition with her mother’s expectations. She must bear a secret, the burden of which threatens her very life. Three mothers, bound by love, deceit and a young woman who connects them all. “Secret Lives of Mothers & Daughters” is an intergenerational novel about family, duty and the choices we make in the name of love.

***

SIDE BY SIDE has been awarded a 2019 Independent Publisher Book Awards (IPPY) Silver Medal for Multicultural Fiction. I’m thrilled and honoured!

Add to your Goodreads TBR with one easy click!

SIDE BY SIDE on Goodreads:

Side by Side

Available at:

Chapters/Indigo: http://bit.ly/2CNScNL

Amazon.ca: https://amzn.to/2OwjIWj 

Barnes and Noble:  http://bit.ly/2EYMomB

Amazon.com: https://amzn.to/2QcFyuR

Publisher’s website: http://bit.ly/2J4uhKb

 

Synopsis: Kavita Gupta is a woman in transition. When her troubled older brother, Sunil, disappears, she does everything in her power to find him, convinced that she can save him. Ten days later, the police arrive at her door to inform her that Sunil’s body has been found. Her world is devastated. She finds herself in crisis mode, trying to keep the pieces of her life from falling apart even more. As she tries to cope with her loss, the support system around her begins to unravel. Her parents’ uneasy marriage seems more precarious. Her health is failing as her unprocessed trauma develops into more sinister conditions. Her marriage suffers as her husband is unable to relate to her loss. She bears her burden alone, but after hitting her lowest point, she knows she needs to find a better way of coping. Desperate for connection, she reaches out to a bereavement group, where she meets Hawthorn, a free-spirited young man with whom she discovers a deep connection through pain. After being blindsided by a devastating marital betrayal, she wonders if a fresh start is possible in the wake of tragedy. Will she escape her problems and start over? Or will she face the challenges of rebuilding the life she already has? Side by Side is a story about loss, growth and the search for meaning in the wake of tragedy, illuminated through one woman’s journey from harm to care.

Publisher: Inanna Publications and Education Inc.

Website: https://www.inanna.ca/catalog/side-side/

Contact for marketing and publicity: Renée Knapp, Publicist. Email: reneeknapp@inanna.ca; Telephone: 416-736-5356

Contact for information regarding international rights: Editor-in-Chief, Luciana Ricciutelli. Email: luciana@inanna.ca

***

THE ESCAPE ARTIST


Synopsis: 

The Escape Artist is the story of Nisha, a nine-year-old Indian-Canadian girl whose vivid imagination keeps her entertained in the loneliness she experiences as an only child and one of the few children in her neighbourhood. After her grandmother dies, her aunt Neela comes to live with Nisha and her parents. Neela suffers from severe post-traumatic stress disorder after having witnessed the death of her father when she was a girl. Neela and Nisha bond over their active imaginations, dreaming up adventures together in the room Neela all but refuses to leave – until an unexpected emergency.

Publisher: Quattro Books, May 2015

Website: http://quattrobooks.ca/books/the-escape-artist/

Add to your Goodreads TBR: THE ESCAPE ARTIST

The Escape Artist

Available at:

Chapters: http://bit.ly/1GH1q9M

Amazon: http://bit.ly/1GH1q9M

Review of “The Escape Artist” by Stephen Sohn:

http://asianamlitfans.livejournal.com/178053.html

“The story also reminds me somewhat of the work of Jhumpa Lahiri and Rishi Reddi in the novella’s nuanced depictions of South Asian North American family lives and local communities and would pair well with any number of stories from Interpreter of Maladies, Unaccustomed Earth, and Karma and Other Stories. We’ll look forward to future works from Kushwaha.”

 

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

New Lune

A blog full of tips, inspiration and freebies!

Reghan Skerry

Writer & Photographer | Halifax, Canada

Shreya Vikram

Blurring the lines between poetry and prose

Mandy Eve-Barnett's Blog for Readers & Writers

My Book News & Advocate for the Writing Community ©

Perpetually Past Due

I'm Technically a Writer

Journeys in Writing

Expressing life's journeys in writing and poetry

Writing and Works

Poetry & Prose by Carol J Forrester

Whimsical Writings for His Glory

Writer, book lover, cat person, napper.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

Writings on a Wall

A Different Perspective . . .

Writing Center Newsletter

Writer, book lover, cat person, napper.

Put it in Writing

The Blog & Website of Anne Stormont Author: Writing, Reading, Reflecting

Writing is Communication

Share, Discover & Enjoy

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writing with Spirit

Melanie Lynn Griffin

The Writing Garnet

A place to share a passion for wonderful books and writing!

Writing with Color

Writer, book lover, cat person, napper.

Aui's Writings

Read, Write and Heal

Writing Wrongs

Website and blog of Charity Tahmaseb

New Lune

A blog full of tips, inspiration and freebies!

Reghan Skerry

Writer & Photographer | Halifax, Canada

Shreya Vikram

Blurring the lines between poetry and prose

Mandy Eve-Barnett's Blog for Readers & Writers

My Book News & Advocate for the Writing Community ©

Perpetually Past Due

I'm Technically a Writer

Journeys in Writing

Expressing life's journeys in writing and poetry

Writing and Works

Poetry & Prose by Carol J Forrester

Whimsical Writings for His Glory

Writer, book lover, cat person, napper.

Blog About Writing

Just another WordPress.com site

Writings on a Wall

A Different Perspective . . .

Writing Center Newsletter

Writer, book lover, cat person, napper.

Put it in Writing

The Blog & Website of Anne Stormont Author: Writing, Reading, Reflecting

Writing is Communication

Share, Discover & Enjoy

Jean's Writing

Jean M. Cogdell, Author-Writing something worth reading, one word at a time in easy to swallow bite size portions.

Writing with Spirit

Melanie Lynn Griffin

The Writing Garnet

A place to share a passion for wonderful books and writing!

Writing with Color

Writer, book lover, cat person, napper.

Aui's Writings

Read, Write and Heal

Writing Wrongs

Website and blog of Charity Tahmaseb

%d bloggers like this: